The Beauty and THE BEAST!!!

Last Sunday was one of the happiest days of my life. It was the fourth day of our five day Osaka trip, and, in the past two days, I and my wife had already gone to Universal Studios Japan, Osaka Castle, International Peace Osaka and Kaikuyan. Thus, I and my wife opted for a relaxing day shopping for souvenirs and goods. We also looked at watches at Yodobashi Camera where I found a watch I really liked. My wife then bought me the said watch, a Casio G-Shock Frogman GWF 1000-1,  as a Father’s Day gift. Wowowee!!!

I’ve always wanted a great tool watch and I can honestly say that the Casio G-Shock Frogman GWF 1000-1 is definitely a BEAST of a tool watch!

P1120824

Like all other Casio G-Shock Frogman models, the Casio G-Shock Frogman GWF 1000-1 is specifically designed for diving. In fact, the Casio G-Shock Frogman line is ISO 6425-compliant with a 200 meters divers rating, the only G-Shock line with the said specification.

Moreover, not only is it shock resistant, it is one of the toughest watches on the planet. Some even say that it is completely indestructible!

Unlike older Casio G-Shock Frogman models, the GWF 1000-1 has Multi-Band Atomic Timekeeping; thus, it receives time calibration radio signals from the United States of America, United Kingdom, Germany, China, and Japan, which keep the displayed time accurate.  Simply put, there is no more need to set the time as it is done automatically via time calibration radio signals.

Furthermore, the Casio G-Shock Frogman GWF 1000-1, like most G-Shock models, is solar powered. A solar panel on the face of the watch receives thermal and electrical energy that recharges the watch batteries. The solar panel converts even weak illumination from fluorescent lighting into electric power. Thus, the Casio G-Shock Frogman GWF 1000-1 can last a decade without a battery change.

It is also a multifunctional watch. Its features include Moon Phase Graph (moon age of specific date), Tide Graph (tide level for specific date and time), World Time (31 time zones), Power Saving (display goes blank to save power when the watch is left in the dark), 5 independent daily alarms, electro-luminescent backlight, dive time and surface interval measurement function, stopwatch, countdown timer, hourly time signal, and battery power indicator.

I really like the World Time function and it is really cool that I can check the time from other times zone by a few clicks of its buttons.

The bombproof stainless steel and resin case with a mineral case face and screw lock back is 58.3 x 52.8 x 18 millimeters and its total weight with the resin band is 115 grams.

Together with my Rolex Explorer, they form my new dynamic duo! The beauty and THE BEAST!

P1120808

One watch designed to scale the mountains, the other to dive into the the seas. One is analog, the other is digital. One is mechanical, the other is solar-powered. One has a steel bracelet, the other a resin band. One is Swiss, the other Japanese. Both super tough watches!!! Both timeless timepieces!!! And both will hopefully have equal wrist times.

I intend to wear the Rolex Explorer for days when I need to dress up, such as in formal events and when I am meeting clients. Otherwise, I will be wearing the Casio G-Shock Frogman, especially when I go outdoors or to the beach.

Thank you for reading and I hope you had a great time!

Leave a Reply

