The Dark Knight Grail

Of all my current grail watches, the Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso is the most attainable, especially considering that my wife promised to give me one on our fifth year wedding anniversary. She did pose one condition though, that is, that I grow a six-pack by that time. I am currently overweight and I could really use a six-pack.

Indeed, the Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso is a worthy motivation to get fit again. It is a nice complement to my collection of one (or two, if you count my running watch, Polar FS2), since it very different from my Rolex Explorer. It has a rectangular case and looks best on a leather strap.

Screen Shot 2015-02-17 at 2.55.48 AM

The watch is a first of its kind. By the early 20th century, the world’s first team sport – polo – had become wildly popular in Britain. Thus, the Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso was introduced in 1931 for hard-charging British polo players who wanted to wear timepieces during their matches but didn’t want the delicate crystal and dial to be damaged. It has a unique case the could be reversed 180 degrees so that the dial and crystal face inward, and is protected from knocks and dust.

While it started as a sports watch, it has now evolved into the ultimate dress watch. The most elegant Reverso, the Grande Taille, retains similar dimensions of the 1931 original Art Deco design and is available in stainless steel. It displays the time on a white guilloche dial with Arabic numerals and a small seconds display, and sports a JLC 822 hand-wound movement, which I really like since it will only take me a few seconds to get it nicely fed, as my Rolex Explorer will still be my everyday watch.

The power reserve is 45 hours and has a thickness of only 9.33 millimeters. The strap is alligator leather. The blank caseback is also very ideal as I can have my name and my wife’s name engraved there.

But what I like most about the Reverso is not its history or specifications, but the fact that it is Bruce Wayne’s watch. Yes, Bruce Wayne wore a Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso in the Dark Knight Trilogy.

Screen Shot 2015-02-17 at 2.52.58 AM

A huge batman fan, I have watched all the modern Batman movies and watched the classic Adam West Batman TV series as a kid. I have read and collected the essential Batman paperbacks. My top five favorites are Batman: Year One, Batman: The Killing Joke, Batman: The Dark Knight Returns, Batman: The Long Halloween, and Batman: Arkham Asylum.

Frank Miller’s Batman: Year One details a rookie Batman’s first year in Gotham City and is the greatest Batman origin story of all time.

On the other hand, Alan Moore’s Batman: The Killing Joke is famous for being the “possible” origin story of Batman’s archnemesis, the Joker. It depicts him as a tragic character: a family man and failed comedian who suffered “one bad day” that drove him insane. It also includes the shooting and paralysis of Barbara Gordon (a.k.a. Batgirl and Oracle).

Batman: The Dark Knight Returns is set in a dystopian near-future version of Gotham City where Batman comes out of retirement to stop a recent crime wave. It includes Batman squaring off against the Man of Steel.

Batman: The Long Halloween is perhaps the greatest Batman detective story (not counting Identity Crisis, which is a Justice League graphic novel and not a Batman graphic novel). It takes place during the Dark Knight’s early days of crimefighting and tells the story of a mysteriously killer Named Holiday, who murders people on holidays.

I like Batman: Arkham Asylum primarily because of Dave McKean’s art, which is chilling and uncannily striking.

Thank you for reading and I hope you had a good time!

Leave a Reply

